The protected area of Vohimana is a massive rainforest, covering 1600 acres.


 Located in the forest corridor of the Madagascan East coast, it holds a wide range of endemic wildlife. Lemurs, amphibians, chameleons and birds inhabit the area, surrounded by a huge variety of rare palm trees and orchids.


 Unfortunately, this biodiversity is under permanent threats such as slah-and-burn farming, deforestation or cyclones... Many unique species could end up extinct. That is why l'Homme et l'Environnement spent the last 20 years working hand in hand with local communities in order to protect the biodiversity of Vohimana. To learn more about the NGO, click here.

Several income-generating activities have been set up through the reserve : ecolodge, distillery, tree nursery, handicraft... All these activities allow the people of Vohimana to improve their living conditions.


By choosing to stay with us at Le Relais du Naturaliste, where 100% profits are returned to the communities, you bring your contribution to their sustainable future.


" An absolutely inspiring place(...)"  -  Yann Arthus Bertrand

La Réserve de Vohimana, forêt humide de moyenne altitude, couvre plus de 2000 hectares.

 

Elle est située au cœur du corridor forestier de l'Est de Madagascar. Avec sa faune et sa flore endémique, elle est un véritable "hotspot" de biodiversité. Lémuriens, grenouilles, caméléons et oiseaux y cohabitent au milieu de nombreuses variétés d'orchidées et de palmiers.


Malheureusement, cette biodiversité est aujourd'hui menacée. Incendies, déforestation,  cyclones, les atteintes sont multiples, et beaucoup d'espèces risquent l'extinction. C'est pourquoi l'ONG l'Homme et l'Environnement œuvre depuis 20 ans à la protection de la biodiversité de Vohimana en accompagnant les populations locales dans les différents programmes de valorisation des ressources naturelles.

Pour plus d'informations sur l'ONG, cliquez ici

 

Plusieurs activités génératrices de revenus ont été mises en place : écolodge, distillerie, pépinière, artisanat... 
Toutes ces activités ont permis de valoriser le territoire et d'améliorer les conditions de vie des populations locales.

 

En choisissant de venir faire un séjour dans l'écolodge du Relais du Naturaliste, dont 100% des bénéfices reviennent aux communautés;  vous contribuerez à la lutte pour préserver la richesse de leur terre.

 

 

" Un endroit absolument inspirant (...)"  -  Yann Arthus Bertrand